NBA Live 1995 (PC) talk

Talk about NBA Live 95-2002 here.

NBA Live 1995 (PC) talk

Postby Leander on Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:11 am

What are your memories of Live 1995?

I had my first holiday job back then and bought my first computer for the game. The game arrived two weeks before my computer and I spent quite some time looking at the box art and reading the manual.
When I finally received my computer, I inserted the disc...and the game did not run. I always got a strange error message and still do not know why it did not work. The company where I bought the company created a custom cfg file that fixed the problem.

Of course I started playing as my fav team, the New York Knicks...then moved on to other teams. I only played in normal resolution mode as everything was too small in high-res mode. I even recorded the music on a tape recorder so I could listen to it in my walkman. :)

I also played with a friend with one custom team each (Stealers, Jammers, Slammers etc.) and drafted our players one by one.

I don't know if the game was too easy or I became too good after playing it for months, but I won every game 130-40 on the highest difficulty setting. What I disliked was my strife for perfection. I wanted to get realistic results and did not have fun actually playing the game and accumulating stats, but every player had to score as many points, grab as many rebounds, dish out as many assists as his real-life counterpart...which was more stressful than relaxed and fun.

One year later I bought Live 96 and only played it for an hour before returning it. My computer was not good enough and I would have to set the graphics to low...without the stadium, audience etc.
My next game was Live 99, then 00, 03, 04, 05, 06...before I moved to NBA 2K09.